Distinguished Educators Award

The Distinguished Educators Award was established in 2005. The recipient of this award must be a current or former member of SSOMS and a distinguished educator in the southeastern region for over fifteen years.

2005 Brian Alpert, DDS and John N.Kent, DDS
2006 William B. Irby, DDS and S. Elmer Bear, DDS
2007 Bill C. Terry, DDS
2008 Thomas W. Jones, DDS
2010 Randolph B. Malloy, DDS, PhD
2011 Raymond P. White, Jr., DDS, PhD
2012 J. W. Hudson, DDS
2013 Timothy Turvey, DDS
2014 M. Franklin Dolwick, DMD, PhD
2015 Daniel M. Laskin, BS, DDS, MD, DSc
2016 Ghali Ghali, DDS, MD, FACC

Frank DiPlacido Humanitarian Award

This award was established in 2008 and is presented to members of the Society who distinguish themselves through demonstrating exemplary humanitarian efforts. The award will be made to deserving members, when appropriate, and a $500 donation will be made to a charity chosen by the recipient or their family or to the OMS Foundation.

2009 Frank DiPlacido, Jr., DMD
2013 J. David Allen, DDS
2014 Vishtasb Broumand, DMD, MD
2015 Charles L. Cuttino, III, DMD, PhD
2016 David Frost, DDS, MS

Lifetime Achievement Award

2011 James Ingrassia, DDS
2012 Charles A. McCallum, DMD, MD
2013 Myron Tucker, DDS
2014 Raymond White DDS
2015 Ronald Tankersley, DDS
2016 John N. Kent, DDS, FACD, FICD